J/30 Class Association

Propeller Shaft Spinning

Posted By: JPM

Propeller Shaft Spinning - 09/04/17 07:26 PM

So, I replaced an engine a week or so ago. The new (used but new to the boat) engine runs just fine. I need to make a few tweaks to idle speed, etc but I was able to motor out to the race course this weekend. However, on the way back in I experienced a vibration that was similar to a prop that wouldn't open. I had the main up so I had the crew go head to wind and I went over the back on the swim ladder and found that the prop would open easily. When I checked the shaft at the coupler, I noticed that the shaft would spin freely within the coupler and there were small metal filings on the sole of the boat beneath the coupling.

I am new to owning a boat with an inboard engine (previous boat was a J24) so I'm a bit out of my comfort zone. It would seem to me that the key or the set screws would be a likely source of failure but I know nothing about how to inspect this. Is this something I can do with the boat in the water or do I need to haul the boat?

Also, is it possible that the engine and the shaft weren't aligned when I did the engine swap? I dropped the new engine on the old motor mounts and it seems like things lined up OK....but again, I'm new to this...

Any help would be appreciated...
Posted By: Russ Atkinson

Re: Propeller Shaft Spinning - 09/04/17 09:20 PM

At the rear of the transmission is a "hat coupler" mounted to the stub shaft of the transmission. Attached to that is another coupler that holds the propeller shaft. That shaft coupler is attached to the transmission coupler with 4 bolts. The shaft coupler is attached to the propeller shaft with two square head machine screws and a keyway. The square headed screws are locked to the shaft coupler with two nuts.(FYI, none of the parts screws or nuts related to the shaft coupler are stainless - get some lubricating oil and bandaids for the skinned knuckles you will most likely have)