J/30 Class Association

Pinching or Backwinding the Main

Posted By: Fitjarald

Pinching or Backwinding the Main - 07/13/17 04:16 AM

Hi everyone!

I am completely new to sailing as of 2 summers ago, with this being my first summer racing, so my apologies if this is a very newby question.

I have been relying on more experienced crew to tune in the 150 genoa we race with, and we generally tighten the sheet until the main just starts to backwind. However, this leaves the jib a couple feet out from the shrouds, and if I go by the telltales, I don't point nearly as high into the wind as other boats in our local fleet - and we're the only J/30! And the only fractional rig! Shouldn't I be just destroying them all!?!? If I point at the same angle as them, I'm pinching and loosing speed.

In the hopes of destroying them all, I'm wondering how close to the shrouds I should bring the 150 in 12-15 knots of wind, and what I should do about back winding the main? We tried a bit more outhaul tonight, which worked a bit, but it hurts to finish side by side with a CS30, knowing with the handicap you should have finished miles ahead... frown

Thanks for any and all advice that may be offered!
Posted By: Rhapsody #348

Re: Pinching or Backwinding the Main - 07/13/17 11:51 AM

The jib should be sheeted in. If you don't have telltales on the luff, install them about 3" in from the head stay at 3 places equidistant along the leading edge on port and starboard sides. Additionally put telltales on the leech of the jib similarly spaced. When sheeting in the jib, make sure you adjust the jib car so you get good telltale flow along the leech top and bottom. Don't worry about the bubble in the main just yet.